Bay View, Lineville Earn National Healthy Schools Award


Bay View Middle School and Lineville Intermediate School are among 15 Wisconsin schools to be named among the 2017 list of America’s Healthiest Schools. There were 323 schools nationwide which earned the honor.

“These schools have worked to serve healthier meals and snacks, increase physical activity, offer high-quality physical and health education programs, and empower school leaders to become healthy role models,” State Superintendent Tony Evers said. “Congratulations on receiving the National Healthy Schools Award.”

Click here to view the complete DPI press release and announcement.

Sattler Named Bay View Middle School Associate Principal


Suamico, Wis. – On Monday, August 7, the Howard-Suamico School District Board of Education approved the hiring of Kasie Sattler as Bay View Middle School Associate Principal.

Mrs. Sattler comes to HSSD after serving as the Director of Curriculum for the Wrightstown Community School District since 2014. Prior to the leadership post, she was  a sixth-grade Science teacher at Wrightstown Middle School. Sattler holds a Master of Science degree in Administrative Leadership from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and a Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

“Kasie brings valuable instructional leadership experience and a passion for inquiry-based learning to our leadership team,” said Bay View Principal Steve Meyers. “She is a middle school educator through-and-through and rose as the top candidate among students, parents, teachers, and administrators in the interview process. We are excited to welcome Kasie to Bay View.”

“I am honored to join the leadership team in Howard-Suamico,” said Sattler. “As a Suamico resident and parent, I am grateful for the opportunity to serve our community.”

Sattler fills the role vacated in July when Paul Hermes was hired as Associate Principal of Appleton North High School.

About the Howard-Suamico School District: Founded in 1961, the Howard-Suamico School District encompasses 53 square miles in one of the most popular and attractive areas of Wisconsin. Located in the villages of Howard and Suamico – just eight miles northwest of Green Bay’s historic Lambeau Field – the district serves approximately 6,100 students in eight schools and 10 community-based four-year-old kindergarten sites, making it the 25th-largest school district in the state of Wisconsin. The HSSD vision, mission and beliefs can best be summarized by the motto: Serving, Learning, Achieving – Together. For more information about the Howard-Suamico School District, follow us on Twitter (@HSSD) or visit

Bay Port, Bay View Earn Spirit of Excellence Award Honors

Bay Port High School was named the Region 3 Spirit of Excellence award winner by the Wisconsin Association of Student Councils. Bay View Middle School earned runner-up status in the Junior and Middle School division this year, after being named statewide winner in 2015.

The schools were honored at the Milwaukee Bucks game last weekend. Congratulations to the student leaders involved in the nomination and portfolio development process.


(Bay Port High School student leaders. Left to right: Jesse Robak, Abbey Ambrosius, Alexis Tingley)


(Bay View Middle School student leaders. Left to right: Michaela Jordan, Ella Beauleau, Emma Drier, Brooke Huben, and Calvin Muraski)

Bay Port Students are National Finalists for NHD Competition


Bay Port High School students (left to right) Ben Walters, Ben Hoskyn, and Jonah Lotter are national finalists in the annual National History Day event based on their state level performance last month. Out of over 10,000 students statewide, only 36 were chosen to advance to the national competition June 12-16 at the University of Maryland.

National History Day is a nationally recognized academic enrichment program dedicated to improving the teaching and learning of history in grades 6-12. This yearlong academic program helps students to build critical thinking and research skills as they explore a topic of their own interest connected to an annual theme.

The theme for this year’s competition is “Exploration, Encounter and Exchange in History.” Ben, Ben, and Jonah’s  topic is “Apollo 13: The Successful Failure” and they have chosen to share their research by creating a documentary. You can view their documentary here.

The trio is fundraising for an opportunity to travel to the national competition and present their research for judging and further awards. Visit their website to learn more and contribute.

Other notable performances at the state level came from Bay View Middle School students: two groups earned 3rd place finishes, one spot away from a national finalist designation. Nathan Jonet and Jack Anderson’s project on the creation of kindergarten and Mady Draak, Ava Krohn, and Anna Mittag’s research on the Little Rock 9 were honored. The Little Rock 9 team also earned a $250 cash award for the best civil rights research project at the state competition.



Patchak Named National History Day Teacher Ambassador

Patchak_Erin_ABay View Middle School 7th-8th grade Social Studies teacher Erin Patchak was named a National History Day Ambassador Teacher, the organization announced this week.

In conjunction with the award, Patchak will attend a national training workshop in July to collaborate with other leaders and help advance the National History Day mission to help students discover the power of history.

Here is the complete press release.

Greater Green Bay Chamber Honors Six HSSD Teachers of Distinction

Golden Apple ToD 2016

The Greater Green Bay Chamber announced the 2016 Golden Apple Teachers of Distinction today. Congratulations to HSSD’s Lisa Hanson (Suamico Elementary), Victoria LeFevre (Bay View Middle), Vicki Quinn (Bay Port IB English team), Amy Richards (Bay Port IB English team), Vonnie Voight (Howard Elementary), and Katie Williams (Lineville Intermediate). These six teachers will move on to the next level of the selection process and will be guests at the Golden Apple Awards April 20, 2016. Click here for the complete list.