Wisconsin Leadership Symposium Featured on NBC 26


The Wisconsin Leadership Symposium, hosted by Discovery Education and the Howard-Suamico School District Friday, November 13, was featured on the NBC 26 Partners in Education segment. School leaders from around the state gathered at the district office and training center. Click the link below to watch Megan Lowry’s report.


Equipment Sale – Portable Food Bars

foodbarThe Howard-Suamico School District has three Cambro FBR60R (60”) portable youth-height food bars for sale – $300 each or OBO. All items are sold “as is” and all sales are final. The District makes no warranties or representations regarding the condition or useability of the items. The sale will continue until items are sold or it is determined that they may be removed from the website. Buyer is responsible for pick up. Contact Kari Alvey, Food Service Manager at (920) 662-7702.

Bay Port Students Earn AP Scholar Awards

Bay-Port-pirateEighty-two (82) students at Bay Port High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement (AP) Exams.

The College Board’s AP Program® provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. About 22 percent of the 2.2 million students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on the student’s performance on AP exams. At Bay Port High School:

Four students qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a
5-point scale on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. This outstanding honor was earned by Hannah Dvorak, Seth Heder, Dakota Klein, and Viktor Mudry.

Twenty-two (22) students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Kayla Arnoldi, Katherine Brown, Bryce Buchinger, Hannah Dvorak, Natalie Englebert, Anthony Glendenning, Lucas Hanson, Seth Heder, Eric Hess, Michael Janczakowski, Erin Karsten, Dakota Klein, Rebecca Kornowski, Emily Lilla, Viktor Mudry, Grant Newman, Carlie Ostrom, Brevin Owens, Madison Peggs, Luke Salmi, Christopher Stammer, and Mckayla Wenner.

Fourteen (14) students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are Jordan Bain, Adam Breister, Brent Buchinger, Rachel Casleton, Brooke Forseth, Mitchell Grunwald, Jacob Mannenbach, Mackenzie Senogles, Samuel Sorenson, Alexander Stoeberl, Benjamin Stratman, Gretchen Trast, Jacob Vandenheuvel, and Austin Vanderheiden.

Forty-two (42) students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Madeline Akbari, Elizabeth Deacon, Jacob Desjardins, Madison Dudek, Hunter Eiden, Gabrielle Every, Ethan Farr, Erin Froelich, Faith Fuller, Jessica Gentz, Tyler Havlichek, Vann Jacques, Morgan Jameson, Josephine Jones, Rebecca Karpenko, Ethan Kenney, Devan Kienitz, Elisabeth Knutson, Hans Koenig, Caitlin Krueger, Maxwell Lacroix, Michael Laes, Connor Larsen, Nathan Leach, Zachary Lorbeck, Lillian Mann, Caitlyn Matheny, Jon Mcnulty, Katlyn Nohr, Andrew Oshaughnessy, Peter Platten, Carmen Radeke, Jack Rathburn, Madeline Reed, Joshua Rentmeester, Megan Roskom, Amber Schulz, Brooke Shackelford, Nicholas Williams, Caleb Wilson, Nicole Wolter, and Emily Younkle.

Of this year’s award recipients, 27 are current juniors and seniors:  Kayla Arnoldi, Jordan Bain, Adam Breister, Katherine Brown, Rachel Casleton, Madison Dudek, Natalie, Englebert, Gabrielle Every, Ethan Farr, Brooke Forseth, Erin Froelich, Faith Fuller, Eric Hess, Elisabeth Knutson, Hans Koenig, Caitlin Krueger, Nathan Leach, Katlyn Nohr, Jack Rathburn, Amber Schulz, Alexander Stoeberl, Gretchen Trast, Jacob Vandenheuvel, Austin Vanderheiden, Mckayla Wenner, Caleb Wilson, and Nicole Wolter.  These students have at least one more year in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award.

Through 34 different college-level courses and exams, AP provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to earn college credit or advanced placement and stand out in the college admission process. Each exam is developed by a committee of college and university faculty and AP teachers, ensuring that AP Exams are aligned with the same high standards expected by college faculty at some of the nation’s leading liberal arts and research institutions. More than 3600 colleges and universities annually receive AP scores. Most four-year colleges in the United States provide credit and/or advanced placement for qualifying exam scores. Research consistently shows that AP students who score a 3 or higher on AP Exams (based on a scale from 1 to 5, with 5 being the highest) typically experience greater academic success in college and have higher college graduation rates than students who do not participate in AP.

About the College Board: The College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access to higher education. Today, the membership association is made up of over 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education. Each year, the College Board helps more than seven million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success — including the SAT® and the Advanced Placement Program. The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators and schools.

About the Howard-Suamico School District: Founded in 1961, the Howard-Suamico School District encompasses 53 square miles in one of the most popular and attractive areas of Wisconsin. Located in the villages of Howard and Suamico – just eight miles northwest of Green Bay’s historic Lambeau Field – the district serves approximately 6,000 students in eight schools and 10 community-based four-year-old kindergarten sites, making it the 26th-largest school district in the state of Wisconsin. The HSSD vision, mission and beliefs can best be summarized by the motto: Serving, Learning, Achieving – Together. For more information about the Howard-Suamico School District, follow us on Twitter (@HSSD) or visit www.hssd.k12.wi.us.